NDDB Dairy Excellence Awards, 2017-18

Apply here

India has emerged as a largest milk producing nation in the world with a contribution of about 20% to the world’s milk production. This phenomenal success is attributed to millions of milk producers who are mostly small, marginal farmers & landless households and especially rural women in dairy sector.

Producers’ Owned Institutions (POIs) in the country have played a pivotal role in transforming dairying, empowering millions of dairy farmers especially women, making dairying sustainable source of livelihood and fostering rural development. Today, it is due to these millions of dairy farmers that our country has not only become self-sufficient in milk production but also the largest milk producing nation in the world. POIs (Milk Cooperatives and Producer Companies) generally works on the philosophy of maximise milk producers’ income by transferring an optimum share of sales realisation to their producer members, resulting in round the year income to milk producers.

Currently, there are more than 200 Producer Owned Institutions in dairy sector in India. They have a network of 2 lakh village level institutions and have reached out to 170 lakh milk producers. They together procured about 502 lakh Kg of milk per day during 2017-18. Apart from procuring all surplus milk from their producer members, they also provide a range of input services in the area of animal breeding, animal nutrition and animal health that contributes in enhancing the milk productivity of animal and reduce the cost of milk production.

In order to recognize the efforts of POIs for management excellence in their business operations, NDDB has constituted “NDDB Dairy Excellence Award”.  Last year (2016-17), NDDB had conferred awards upon winners on 26 September 2017.

Now, to recognise the performance of the POI in dairy business management, women empowerment and adoption of digital payment system in their business operation during 2017-18, “NDDB Dairy Excellence Award for 2017-18” has been launched.


Management Excellence Award:

There will be three categories of POIs- a) Large Organisation (milk procurement more than 5 LKgPD), b) Medium Organisation (milk procurement between 1 to 5 LKgPD), and c) Small Organisation (milk procurement less than 1 LKgPD). Under each category, two organisations at National level (first position & second position) and one organisation at Regional level (i.e. North, South, East and West) will be awarded. The winners at national level will be conferred with cash prize of Rs. 5 Lakh for 1st position & Rs. 2 lakh for 2nd position along with a citation and at the regional level cash prize of Rs. 1 lakh along with a certificate of merit will be conferred.

The organisation qualifying at the national level will not be eligible for regional level awards.  The organisations who have secured 1st position in any of the award category during award 2016-17 will not be considered under the same category/level for the year 2017-18. List of the Milk Unions/PCs who received 1st prize in various categories of NDDB- Dairy Excellence Award, 2016-17 are as under:




National Level (1st position)

Regional Level (1st position)

  1. A.    Main Category (Management Excellence Award)


Large Size Dairy Cooperatives (milk procurement more than 5 LKgPD)

Banaskantha District Cooperative Milk Producers’ Union Limited

Western Region - Sabarkantha District Cooperative Milk Producers' Union Limited

Northern Region - Jaipur Zila Dugdh Utapdak Sahakari Sangh Limited

Southern Region - Bengaluru Urban, Bengaluru Rural & Ramanagara District Cooperative Milk Producer's Societies Union Limited


Medium Size Dairy Cooperatives (milk procurement between 1 LKgPD &  5 LKgPD)

Bhilwara Zila Dugdh Utpadak Sahakari Sangh Limited

Eastern Region – Deshratna Dr. Rajendra Prasad Dugdh Utpadak Sahakari Sangh Limited, Barauni

Western Region - Rajarambapu Patil Sahakari Dudh Sangh Limited

Northern Region - Ropar District Cooperative Milk Producers' Union Limited

Southern Region - Shivamogga, Davangere & Chitradurga District Cooperative Milk Producers Union Limited


Small Size Dairy Cooperatives (milk procurement less than 1 LKgPD)

Mulkanoor Women Mutually Aided Milk Producers Co-operative Union Limited

Eastern Region – Icchamati Cooperative Milk Producers' Union Limited

Western Region - Goa State Cooperative Milk Producers' Union Limited

Northern Region - Kota Zila Dugdh Utpadak Sahakari Sangh Limited

Southern Region - Pudukkottai District Cooperative Milk Producers Union Limited

  1. B.    Special Awards


Award for north-eastern states

Sikkim Cooperative Milk Producers' Union Limited


Award for the highest  functional women DCS

Jaipur Zila Dugdh Utapdak Sahakari Sangh Limited


Award for  the highest women membership

Kolhapur Zilla Sahakari Dudh Utpadak Sangh Limited


Special Awards:

Special Award will be conferred under three categories:



Special Award – Women Empowerment

In this category, 3 awards will be conferred for having a) highest functional women DCS, b) highest functional women membership, and c) highest growth in women membership in last 5 year. One organisation in each category will be awarded with a cash prize of Rs. 3 lakh along with a citation.



Special Award – Digital Payment

To recognize the efforts of POIs in adopting digital payment system to promote cashless transition among milk producer members and propagate transparency in milk bill payments, a special award for‘Digital Payment - payment to milk producers through their bank accounts’ will be given to 2 organisations.  The award includes cash prize of Rs. 2 lakh for 1st position and Rs. 1 lakh for 2nd position along with a citation. 



Special Award – North-Eastern States

To encourage the dairy cooperative movement in the North-Eastern region of the country, aspecial award for North-Eastern States will be conferred upon the winner with cash prize of Rs. 1 Lakh along with a certificate of merit.

Eligibility Criteria:

The participating organisation necessarily has to be:

  1. Milk producers’ owned & controlled district(s)/taluka(s)/tehsil(s) level Milk Cooperative or Producer Company,
  2. Net profit in the last financial year (i.e. audited financial statement 2017-18) and
  3. Operational for more than 5 years


Award Process:



Login id and password for the web portal has been sent to the official email id of respective POIs. Please fill up the questionnaire and submit your entry by 8th October, 2018”.

In case of any clarification, please feel free to contact Shri Rajesh Gupta, Deputy General Manager (CS), email: rajgupta@nddb.coop or Shri Kahnu C Behera, Manager (FPS), email: kcbehera@nddb.coop